Seeing the light at the end of the tunnel

So, Over the past two weeks, I have worked a shit-ton. I worked 6 nights in a row, then 3 days off, then 5 nights in a row. Granted, part of this was by choice, as it was either that, or a day and a half to go from night shift to day shift. Do I really need to draw you diagrams about how shitty I was going to feel on Saturday with that little time to adjust. The only way I would have felt worse is if I’d been bitten by a zombie. In the balls. Granted, zombies don’t need the ol’ rod and reel after being bitten, but you know that zombies have to have some form of water cooler talk as they shamble in the pursuit of brains. Because real zombies take a fucking long time to get anywhere, so you just have to get to know your neighbors, because you’ll be spending a lot of time with them. (Dragggggggggggiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnngggggg the joke out a little bit longer… OK, done.)

So, imagine the awkwardness of that conversation:
Tim: Uggggggggghhhhhh (Hey, you’re the new guy, aren’t you?)
Me: Uggggghhhhhhhhh (Yeah, I got bitten in the grocery store.) Ugggggggggghhhhhhhh (Where did you get bit?)
Tim: Ugggggggggghhhhhhhh (Fucking cabbie left me in the middle of High and Main.) Uggggggggggghhhhhhhhh (Not that it did him much good, since Dave here got him.)
Dave: Ugggggggggghhhhhhhhhh (I’m rather proud of my hood mount, although that light pole hurt like a bitch.) Uggggggggggghhhhhhhhhh (Hey, wait. Grocery store, right?)
Me: Ugggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhh (Yeah…)
Tim: Ugggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh (I remember that. Ol’ Missy got his frank and beans!)
Dave: Uggggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh (At three hundred pounds, she needs all of the meat she can get!)
Me: Ugggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhh (Fuck you guys. I’m going over there.)

As you can tell, I don’t adjust well between nights and days.

Leave a Reply

