Faith in Mankind? Never had much, to be honest

As I have stated many times before, I’m a pessimist. I expect bad things to happen, because quite honestly, they tend to happen all the time anymore. So therefore, I don’t have much faith in mankind, because the moment you hold out hope against that faceless mass, you’ll find that small torch mercilessly blown out without as much as an apology. It’s a harsh way to look at life, and some days, after I have taken way too many kicks to the ribs, it can seem like I’m looking up from the bottom of a bottomless well.

On the other hand, when I’m looking to jump a chasm of uncertainty, it can help, as I have already imagined everything, and I’m using that word very precisely, that can go wrong, and so the only thing left to do is to enjoy the hang time as I reach out to the other edge. (I have recently decided to make a leap, it’s just a matter of timing the jump; I might be flirting with disaster, and know all of the pathways that disaster might lead, but that doesn’t mean I want it to fail. I might be a pessimist and a fatalist, but I think it makes me enjoy when things go right all the more.)

But all of that aside, one of the reasons I have no faith in mankind is because I read, and as I have been re-reading the Discworld books, I got a very strong and specific reminder of why: Sir Terry Pratchett wrote about the failure of the financial system, of the grand frauds perpetrated by men that think they know better than everyone else five years before everything went to shit. He wrote Making Money the very year before it all went down. How did he do it? The same way all true prognosticators do it: people are predictable, and they give into the promise of hope all too easily, even when they should know that that diamond really isn’t one.

On the other hand, individuals can change, can learn from their mistakes. And that to me is where true hope lies, not in some faceless mass known as The People, The Silent Majority, The Grassroots Movement, or any other political hack job used to bullshit people into doing things, but people known as Bob, Kyle, and Phil (well, depends on the Phil you’re talking about… There’s one Phil that I might be nice to, but I wouldn’t trust him if you gave $20 and a document signed by a notary… Or the other Phil, but He’s made up inside my head, and somehow become my Face of God, although I’m still trying to think about good ways to curse using His name… What’s the use of having a name for God if you can’t drag it through the mud?)

So, there you are: people as a whole are useless, while persons can be depended on, most of the time. Sir Terry Pratchett says so.

Leave a Reply

