“So he gathered the manuscript and heaved it through the transom.”

From “Back Against the Wall” by Cage the Elephant:

Deep in the jungle
Camouflaged by all the fallen leaves
A hand holds up the sky
While shamefully I make my plea
The alters callin’
But my legs won’t seem to stand
Guess I’m a coward
Scared to face the man I am

And then I read a passage from Quicksilver, by Neal Stephenson, that made me go, “Time to stop fucking around.” There are times its painful to face yourself, but in the end, we all have to face ourselves.

Leave a Reply

