Questioning the Conclusions – NSFW

The guy behind “Climategate” responds.

I have admitted many times before that I might be wrong about Human caused Climate Change, and that the climate might be warming, but after I read that article, I wanted to either punch that guy or simply argue with him, but at this point, I know that I would want to punch him, HARD. The main thing that drives me insane about that article is that he goes on and on about how disorganized the data is, and apologizes for it, but still stands by his conclusions. Someone please explain to me: if the data is such a fucking, incoherent mess (my words from my impression) how in the bloody fuck can you come to any conclusions at all. And no, you can’t one off like this:

He said many people had been made sceptical about climate change by the snow in the northern hemisphere – but they didn’t realise that the satellite record from the University of Alabama in Huntsville showed that January had been the warmest month since records began in 1979.

That is about as fucking relevant as saying that Miya Vagina has the biggest pussy when someone mentions that Ron Jeremy has the biggest cock. (OK, I made that shit up; Ron Jeremy does have a big cock, and Miya Vagina sounds like someone from a Austin Powers movie.) Yes, I know that I just cherry picked, but when I read that line… it just sounded condescending.

But anyways, to get to a real point so I can go to bed: I’m not a scientist, and don’t pretend to be, but I know the scientific method, and saying that something is true when the data is incomplete is not in line with what I know of it. While he might not have an agenda, he is way too invested in his conclusions to be considered impartial the way I think a scientist should be. But I’m not a scientist, don’t have a degree, so what the fuck do I know? Except that this man’s conclusions are going to affect me one way or another, since it’s being used as the impetus to drive through some very sketchy legislation, and might possibly (remotely, I will admit) lead to more hardship than any global warming might have.

Leave a Reply

