Admitting that I am wrong

This and this makes me laugh now. When I first saw it, I was like “Are you even listening to yourself?” What am I babbling about? Here:

We had some snow this morning ! Snow is quite rare where I live. Last time was 4 years ago.

And this:

The Copenhague conference was a failure, but the Empire is still doing its best to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions.

Those two are a day apart from each other. I started to tear into the apparent contradiction of those two statements, but as I started typing, I realized something. First what I originally typed:

Now, the lack of snow is one of my very smart friend’s arguments against me, “We haven’t had real snow in several years. Tell me that means nothing!” Which would be all and well, except… well… An area that rarely gets snow, got snow. So what does it mean?

Nothing. The rare snow, or the lack of local snow, means nothing for global climate.

Yup, I realized that the snow proves nothing on either side. So why in the hell post this if it didn’t prove anything at all? Because I actually think about what I’m posting, even if it doesn’t seem like it, and when I’m wrong, I’m not afraid to admit to it. So what is the reader supposed to take away from this? Well, think about what you’re writing, and don’t be afraid to admit that you’re wrong, even if it makes you look like an idiot.

Leave a Reply

