Stop apologizing for being an asshole

Almost 900 words on my novel, half of which was transcribed from my notebook; pen and paper are better for getting thoughts down quickly (and the netbook>laptop for actual writing.)

So, this guy is a “Commie Bastard” and he’s apologizing for being caught out on it. My favorite line in the piece:

“On the eve of historic fights for health care and clean energy, opponents of reform have mounted a vicious smear campaign against me,” Jones said in his resignation statement. “They are using lies and distortions to distract and divide.”

You know, this guy is the very epitome of Self-Important Assholes; the fact that he thinks he’s important enough to be the target of “the Opposition” says volumes about his ego. But the real point of this is the whole apologizing thing: do NOT apologize for saying what’s on your mind just because someone is offended. It’s the worst type of capitulation, showing how fucking spineless you really are.

If anything he should have done what I would have done: told the President that he wants no part of this crazy. Then again, I understand what I say could very well be considered offensive (and times have gone out of my way to offend people) and I would act accordingly if someone requested my presence in politics. And if the poor, poor bastard insisted, I would be like “OK, but you can’t say I didn’t warn you.” And when all of my “sins” came out to the public view, yes, I would feel some embarrassment on whomever’s behalf, but oh, I would go to war with the press. I would say, “Yes, I said that, and I can say it again if you don’t believe me. And no, I’m not sorry I said it. I’m sorry you feel the way you do, but on the other hand, opinions are like assholes, and everyone has one.” Yeah, it’s best that I stay very, very far away from politics. Only God knows what I might say at any given time, or even worse what I might start laughing at (I remember someone getting offended because I admitted to laughing at a funeral. Actually, several funerals, but who’s counting?)

And in other news, this is a rocking song. I think it’s British Blues, but it rocks whatever it is.

Hmmmm, methinks I need to do a Self-Important Asshole Watch. Why didn’t I think of that before?!

Leave a Reply

