Now that shoudn’t have been a surprise…

Surrender came from French. I’m watching “The Adventure of the English Language,” a show that tickles my historical and linguistic bone, mainly because it reminds me that anyone and everyone that complains about “improper” or bad language, and the impending doom of the acceptance or acquiescence (another French word by the way… the have so many words for “rolling over and getting fucked by the Germans…” :P)… Uh, oh, yeah. Those people that worry about proper English, or “offensive words,” are completely, and utterly full of shit. (For some reason, that last sentence came across sounding Monty Pythonesque in my head.)

In short, people that worry about language and it changing into something “barbaric” are twits, and I need to find better ways of spending my time that bitching about those people. Unless someone finds this in any way entertaining, then it wasn’t a waste of time. I was only marginally entertained.

Except that I still find it hilarious that “surrender” is French.

2 Responses to “Now that shoudn’t have been a surprise…”

  1. Giftmacher Says:

    Is that the Melvin Bragg documentary? If so there’s a book that goes with it, you might like that too.

    Gift.

  2. brenatevi Says:

    Ooooh, I’ll have to look into that.

Leave a Reply

