Never startle a cat…

Especially if he’s sitting on your chest.

Looking at the new claw marks on my stomach that are soon to be scars brought home the fact that I have let myself sit on my ass for way too long. I tried a BMI “test” and it said that I was borderline between healthy and overweight. I’m not going to ask “When the Hell did this happen?” because I know exactly when. The whole going from walking 10 miles a day to sitting on my ass every day for 2 and a half years, without picking up on my extracurricular exercise… Yeah, weight gain is inevitable. Did I mention that I’ve been sitting on my ass? Yup, I’ve been sitting on my ass. Granted, that’s what asses are for, except that I’ve been doing epic ass-sitting. We’re talking marathon ass-sitting sessions. I think there are whole weeks when the only time I got up was when I went to work. It’s getting warm, so I’m going to try walking everyday (even the days I work) for an hour. I might have promised this before, so we’ll see how it goes. Also, sit-ups and crunches might help. Although full sit-ups might be hard, what with my slowly and insidiously expanding frontier.

Oh, and for those that are curious: I think I’ve gained between twenty and thirty pounds since I quit meter reading. If I keep that up, I’m going to start looking like my co-workers… If that isn’t reason to get in shape, I don’t know what is. One co-worker sounds like he’s dying just walking to the coffee pot.

Leave a Reply

