“On the road again.”

When people say that they’d love to travel, they are demonstrating their ignorance of just how bloody boring travel is. Waiting in an airport for six hours? Oh hell, I could waste six hours at home, in bed. Ten hours driving… driving is one of the most boring things in the world, even when it’s raining and the road twists and turns like a lap dance (why is it everytime I travel the West Virginia Turnpike it’s raining?)

Yet for all of my bitching about the boredom, I do love travelling, but not for the same reasons as everyone else. Travelling is a challenge to Murphy, telling him to give me his best shot. It’s an invitation for “everything that can go wrong, will go wrong.” Sure, I get lots of that at home, but there you have home field advantage. In the middle of Bumfuck, Egypt; not so much. So can you handle it kemosabe? And the only way you find out is by travelling.

Posted from a motel outside Charlotte, NC. Was supposed to in Charleston, SC but Murphy struck.

2 Responses to ““On the road again.””

  1. Travel you say… you mean like turning up at the wrong airport? 😉

    Gift.

  2. brenatevi Says:

    I wasn’t the one that showed up at the airport a day early. 😛

    I still tell that story whenever I get the chance, especially the part where you’re telling security, “I swear my friend isn’t a terrorist.”

Leave a Reply

