the Obama questionnaire

http://barackobamatest.com/?fuseaction=home.options

This questionnaire reminds me that polls can be self-serving, “leading” a person to make a choice by phrasing the question in a certain way. Still, this really made me think about what I believe.

1. Do you agree or disagree that Homeland Security should have to seek out a warrant in federal court in order to perform search and seizure on a non-citizen on American soil suspected of being involved in terrorism?
Agree
Disagree
2. Do you agree or disagree that Homeland Security should have to seek out a warrant in federal court in order to perform search and seizure on an American citizen suspected of being involved in terrorism?
Agree
Disagree
3. Should someone who is not a U.S. citizen, being held under suspicion of terrorism, be afforded Constitutional rights?
Yes
No

These three questions made me think and do a wee bit of research. As someone that understands that the terrorists haven’t given up on attacking the United States, I would like to argue that we need to give officials as much leeway to act, especially in circumstances where many lives are at stake (like someone sneaking in a dirty bomb.)

But as a libertarian, I feel that letting officials act without constraint will eventually lead to abuses.

6. In general, what should be more important to Americans in their daily life: Moral values or material concerns?
Moral values
Material concerns

And I really hate that question. Really, really hate it. Check that; I hate the entire abortion section. Abortion is one of those issues that really bothers me because it happens in the wild all the time; there are a lot of animals that will eat their own young (a good fraction of those are males killing young that aren’t their’s.) So the argument now is whether or not humans are better than animals. Most “religious types” believe we are better than animals, which explains their abortion stance. Personally, I don’t know. I could easily argue either way. In the end, I think it should be decided on a state by state basis.

Now for the “answers:”

13. If you knew you had a step brother who was living in a slum and barely surviving on $300 a year, would you help them financially?
All Americans
Yes 83.8%
Obama Position – No 6.5%
You selected:
Yes

I find this interesting; I wonder how exactly this question was phrased to Obama, and how he replied.

Otherwise, it went about how I expected it to go.

2 Responses to “the Obama questionnaire”

  1. haha.. I was thinking the same thing for #13 (which is how I found your site).. I was also expecting All Americans to be 99.9% for Yes, so I wonder what they were thinking when asked this same question…

  2. brenatevi Says:

    I did some more research after I posted this and discovered that Obama has a half-brother that lives in Africa, but was staying in London when Obama made his “European Whirl-Wind” tour. It seems that Obama made no efforts to see his brother, not that it bothered his brother any.

    Once again, a mis-leading question, but that seems to be the political game lately.

Leave a Reply

