Yes, I can be stupidly stubborn

So I downloaded 1632 by Eric Flint tonight and I had a sort of epiphany. As anyone that has listened to me bitch and moan knows, I dislike American liberals and I’m suspicious of American conservatives; both groups have their own agenda, and they really don’t care for what I think. I’m not even a cog, so I’m waaaaaaay below their notice. Before I go further, let us take a look at Mr. Flint’s biography:

A longtime labor union activist with a degree (Phi Beta Kappa) in African history, he currently resides in northwest Indiana with his wife Lucille.

Hmmmm. The first thought that crossed my mind was, “I should automatically hate this guy.” For the longest time I’ve had a dislike, which developed into a hatred of Unions (the hatred developed when I was forced to join a union that did absolutely nothing for me or lose my job; I joined, but I was NOT in any way, shape, or form happy with it.) Right then, when that thought crossed my mind, I decided I’m going to read the book any ways, because for one it’s free, and for two, I’m not going to bow down to automatically disliking anyone simply because of my preconceived notions. Damn it all, I’m going to give him a chance, otherwise I’ve become my mother.

So I started reading, and even though I’m not very far into the book, and a thought occurred to me: I hate any and all self-identifying groups of people, and think they ALL are part of the problem. Now, one of my old jokes was, “I hate people, I love individuals.” Now, I could go on hours and hours about reasons groups are bad, why I don’t trust them, yada, yada, yada. I might later, but not tonight. You can probably cobble it together through my past and future posts anyways.

Even then, I’d be halfway wrong. Groups have a purpose, like Unions. When they first formed, they served a very specific purpose, were a necessity in making the work place a safer, more pleasant place. The problems begin when they become about maintaining their existence, instead of accomplishing something. Same goes for all groups. (The only group that I’ve been convinced that needs any continuity is the military, but even then, as seen with the US military, there is such thing as too much of a “good” thing.)

Now that I’ve beaten that horse a few more times, I’m going to go back to reading 1632, and enjoy the trip through time.

Leave a Reply

